The Trailblazer Award


The Trailblazer Award was created to acknowledge individuals who are creating a more peaceful, equitable and safe world and who, through their leadership, demonstrate that women are agents of change.

NATO Deputy Secretary General Rose Gottemoeller
Rose Gottemoeller

Gottemoeller, NATO’s deputy secretary general, was honored in Brussels before an audience of NATO permanent representatives, European Union officials, Georgetown…

Headshot of Lyse Doucet
Lyse Doucet

Doucet is known for her coverage of Afghanistan, where she first traveled on Christmas Eve 1988. In 2002, she was…

Phyu Phyu is presented an award
May Sabe Phyu

May Sabe Phyu is the Director of the Gender Equality Network, a coalition of more than 120 organizations across Myanmar…

Iryna is presented an award by Melanne Verveer and William Hague
Iryna Geraschenko

Iryna Geraschenko is the Deputy Speaker of the Ukrainian Parliament. She also serves as the President’s Commissioner for the Peaceful Settlement of…

Alissa Rubin receives an award from Jack DeGioia and Melanne Verveer
Alissa Rubin

Alissa Rubin is the Paris bureau chief for The New York Times, and has spent much of her remarkable 35 year reporting career covering…