Breadcrumbs

Mexico Conference on Peacebuilding with a Gender Perspective

The Second Conference on Peacebuilding with a Gender Perspective (Congreso de Construcción de Paz con Perspectiva de Género) will take place November 13-15 at the Universidad Iberoamericana in Mexico City, Mexico. It is co-sponsored by Georgetown’s Institute for Women, Peace and Security; Centro de Investigación y Educación Popular; CINEP/Programa por la PazEscola de Cultura de Pau; the Center for Justice & Peacebuilding of Eastern Mennonite UniversityFundación seminario de investigación para la pazUniversitat Jaume I; Jesuitas por la Paz; and WILPF España.

GIWPS Executive Director Amb. Melanne Verveer will travel to Mexico City to speak on the opening panel on November 13 at 9am CDT (10am EST). Ambassador Verveer will present the Women, Peace and Security Index and discuss key insights the WPS Index provides on the global state of the women and international security. She will be joined by Dr. Carmen Magallón, President of WILPF-España; Violeta Campos, President of LIMPAL-México/WILPF-México; Magda López, of CINEP; and Dr. María Villellas of Escuela de Paz, Universidad Autónoma de Barcelona.

GIWPS consultant Dr. Mariana Viollaz will present at the conference on November 14 at 11am CDT (12pm EST). She will discuss the nature of gang violence in El Salvador, Guatemala, and Honduras and the rationale for classifying gang-related violence as a new form of conflict. She will elaborate on the measurement implications for an new classification, including on the Uppsala Conflict Data Program and on the Women, Peace and Security Index.

Amb. Melanne Verveer:  Tuesday, November 13, 2018 at 9-11 am CDT (10am-12pm EST)

The discussion with Amb. Verveer will be live streamed here.

Dr. Mariana Viollaz:  Wednesday, November 14, 2018 at 11-1pm (12-2pm EST)

The discussion with Dr. Viollaz will be live streamed here.