Celebrating Peacemakers

We shine a spotlight on trailblazers who have advanced the role of women in creating a more peaceful and secure world.

Spotlight on Awardees

Michelle Bachelet headshot
Hillary Clinton Award

Michelle Bachelet

UN human rights chief and former president of Chile, Michelle Bachelet is a powerful voices for women's rights.
Marta headshot
Hillary Clinton Award

Virginia Martes Velásquez

Virginia Martes Velásquez defends women's rights in Choloma, Honduras.
Rosa Anaya headshot
Hillary Clinton Award

Rosa Anaya

Rosa Anaya rehabilitates prison inmates in El Salvador.
NATO Deputy Secretary General Rose Gottemoeller
The Trailblazer Award

Rose Gottemoeller

Rose Gottemoeller is the highest ranking civilian woman in NATO’s history.
headshot of Human rights activist Nadia Murad Basee Taha
Hillary Clinton Award

Nadia Murad

Nadia Murad is a Yazidi activist and human rights champion.
head shot of Wai Wai Nu
Hillary Clinton Award

Wai Wai Nu

Wai Wai is a leading voice for human rights and peace in Myanmar.
Headshot of Lyse Doucet
The Trailblazer Award

Lyse Doucet

Lyse Doucet is the BBC’s Chief International Correspondent.
Phyu Phyu is presented an award
The Trailblazer Award

May Sabe Phyu

Myanmar’s May Sabe Phyu is a civil society activist in Kachin state, which is still a holdout in agreeing to the end to hostilities and engaging in the Panglong peace process.
Monica McWilliams is presented with an award
The Trailblazer Award

Monica McWilliams

Monica McWilliams was a negotiator in the Good Friday talks, which brought an end to three decades of conflict in Northern Ireland.
Iryna is presented an award by Melanne Verveer and William Hague
The Trailblazer Award

Iryna Geraschenko

Iryna Geraschenko is the highest-ranking women in the ongoing process to reach a peaceful solution to the conflict in Eastern Ukraine.

Explore Convenings & Connections

Roundtables and Keynotes Bridging Theory & Practice